Saturday, May 18, 2013

Liste to Neil Young Dead Man

Dead Man (soundtrack)

 Johnny Depp Spoken Word: The ancient tradition that the world will be consumed in fire at the end of six thousand years is true; As I have heard from hell. The whole creation will be consumed, and appear infinite and holy, where as it now seems finite and corrupt. This will come to pass by an improvement of sensual enjoyment. If the doors of perception were cleansed, everything would appear to man as it is, infinite.  
Dead Man
Soundtrack album by Neil Young
Released February 27, 1996
Recorded March 27, 1995
Genre Instrumental rock, experimental rock
Length 62:24
Label Vapor
Producer Neil Young, John Hanlon
Neil Young chronology
Mirror Ball
Dead Man
Broken Arrow

Dead Man is the soundtrack to the 1995 Jim Jarmusch western-themed film of the same name starring Gary Farmer, and Johnny Depp as William Blake. Neil Young recorded the soundtrack by improvising (mostly on his electric guitar, with some acoustic guitar, piano and organ) as he watched the newly edited film alone in a recording studio. The soundtrack album consists of seven instrumental tracks by Young, with dialog excerpts from the film and Johnny Depp reading the poetry of William Blake interspersed between the music. The version of the main theme used over the film's beginning and end credits is not included,[3] but was released as a promo single.[4] The soundtrack differs from the film in that it uses background noises of a driving car while the whole plot is set in 19th century (before automobiles were invented).


The disc was released in 1996. In addition to a standard CD release, a "special edition" was released, which was bound in a customized cover. Made to look like a 19th-century photo album, the spine is covered in a mauve-brown cloth and the cover itself is a black laminated cardboard. The booklet normally included in the CD is bound in this "book" along with a cardboard folder to hold the disc itself.

Track listing

All songs written and composed by Neil Young.

Side one

No. Title Length
1. "Guitar Solo, No. 1"   5:18
2. "The Round Stones Beneath the Earth"   3:32
3. "Guitar Solo, No. 2"   2:03
4. "Why Dost Thou Hide Thyself in Clouds"   2:25
5. "Organ Solo"   1:33
6. "Do You Know How to Use This Weapon?"   4:25
7. "Guitar Solo, No. 3"   4:31
8. "Nobody's Story"   6:36
9. "Guitar Solo, No. 4"   4:22
10. "Stupid White Men..."   8:46
11. "Guitar Solo, No. 5"   14:41
12. "Time for You to Leave, William Blake..."   0:51
13. "Guitar Solo, No. 6"   3:22