Saturday, July 20, 2013

Listen Bill Horist

North Pole Records is honored to release guitarist, Bill Horist’s, newest album Covalent Lodge. An intricately orchestrated master album featuring Horist’s haunting and deliberate finger pickings along with exquisite musicianship by Grammy recipient Matt Chamberlain on drums, Eyvind Kang (Zorn, Beck, Ribot) on viola, vocalist B.R.A.D. (ASVA,The Accused, MMOB) and jam-packed with other A-list musicians. Most of Horist’s solo albums consist of electric prepared guitar work, but Covalent Lodge is notable for it’s traditional acoustic qualities captured by engineer and producer Randall Dunn (Sunn o))), Boris, Kinski, Earth) at Aleph Studios. Dunn and Horist are both members of mystical dirge metal super group Master Musicians of Bukakke (Conspiracy Records).
Horist’s deft fingers pull extended and winding guitar lines through a soundscape populated by strange choral voices, lumbering drums, long tone electronic drones, a harmonically twisting string section, and beckoning horns from outposts in some open wild desert. Performed with stellar musicianship, the songs are precise and calmly accessible. It sounds like the reverberating ghost of some multi-cultural Morricone orchestra, or Jim O’Rourke doing weird world-beat ambient numbers under hypnosis. The ethereal qualities of the songs move with subdued tension. A familiar ghost in a haunted lodge, soothing and unsettling.


released 02 March 2010
Recorded and Mixed by Randall Dunn at
Aleph Studios, Sinister Kitchen, and the Craft
(Seattle) 7/05-8/06
Mastered by Mell Dettmer at Sinister Kitchen
Produced by Bill Horist and Randall Dunn
All music C & P 2006 Tangenesis Artifactory Music
Art/Design by Starbage Hands
released 02 March 2010
B.R.A.D. - voice
Eyvind Kang - viola
Monica Schley - harp
Aiko Shimada - voice
Dave Carter - trumpet
Jessika Kenney - voice
Lori Goldston - cello
Paul Rucker - upright bass
Eric Houghton - throat whistle
Climax Golden Twins - electronics
Seattle Harmonic Voices - vocals
Matt Chamberlain - drums/percussion
Christopher DeLaurenti - electronics
Ben Thomas - vibraphone/glockenspiel
Shahzad Ismaily - electric bass/keyboards
Hans Teuber - saxophone/clarinet/flute/bass clarinet
Steve Moore - keyboards/prepared piano/trombone
Bill Horist - acoustic guitar/electric guitar/keyboards
baritone guitar/bass drum